2014-15 Fellowship & Grant Awards Recipients

Omicron Nu Eileen C. Maddex Master’s Fellowhip
Kelsie Nicole Doty – (Omicron Theta), Kansas State University – “Colorfastness of Natural Dyes Derived from Black Walnut, Osage Orange, Eastern Red Cedar, Mahogany, and California Redwood Mill Waste on 30/2 Wool Yarns.”
Ruth E. Hawthorne Research Grant
Crystal Duncan Lane – (Kappa Alpha Theta), Eastern Illinois University – “In the Shadow of the Ribbon: Experiences of Women with Stage IV Breast Cancer.”
National Alumni Grant and the Kappa Omicron Nu New Initiatives Grant
Virginia Vincenti – (Omicron Tau), University of Wyoming – “Understanding Elder Financial Exploitation in the Family: Identifying Relational Complexities.” Collaborators on the project include Axton E. Betz-Hamilton (Eastern Illinois University), Karen P. Goebel (University of Wisconsin-Madison, and Donovan P. Rudisuhle (Laramie, WY).
Undergraduate Research Award
Zachary Grunewald (Omicron Pi) and Mentor (Dr. Arturo Figueroa) of Florida State University – “The Effects of Oral L-Citrulline and Caffeine Supplementation on Arterial Function in Healthy Males.”
Undergraduate Research Award
Rebecca Walker (Kappa Delta Rho) and Mentor (Dr. Catherine Anstrom) of Olivet Nazarene University – “Nutritional Profiling Systems: Can They Be Implemented in Subsidiary Food Pantries for Reducing Nutrient Deficiencies among the Elderly?”
LeaderShape Institute Award
Alyssa Rose Willis – (Omicron Beta Theta) of Montclair State University
Chapter Scholar Program Grants – $15,000

Leaders in Family and Consumer Sciences

Leaders in Family and Consumer Sciences

—-DEADLINE EXTENDED: Please submit nominations by November 30, 2014—-
Leaders in Family and Consumer Sciences
Call for Nominations, Authors, and Reviewers

Joan McFadden and Ruth Ann Ball in collaboration with Kappa Omicron Nu and Dorothy Mitstifer are undertaking the publication of Leaders in Family and Consumer Sciences to document and recognize individuals who have contributed to advancing the quality and impact of the profession of family and consumer sciences/human sciences. Recognition will be given to educators, administrators and managers, human service and business professionals, researchers, and others in the multiple practice settings and content areas who have contributed to the development of the field of study and practice.

Nominations, authors, and reviewers are solicited for biographical and autobiographical manuscripts that recognize contributions that have not been documented in a book. Send an e-mail to submissions@kon.org to nominate leaders and volunteer as author and/or reviewer. Nominations, authors, and reviewers will be accepted until October 30, 2014 or until such time as book page limit has been reached. Timelines for completion of the first draft will be set with authors.

Read more about Guidelines for Authors and Submission Procedures here.

CCHS Award Presenter

Kelsie Doty, Omicron Theta member of Kappa Omicron Nu at Kansas State University, presented her research at the Coordinating Council of Honor Societies Luncheon at the American Association of Family and Consumers Sciences in Houston, June 28, 2013. Kelsie’s research compared mordanted and nonmordanted cotton and wool fabrics (dyed with black walnut leaves, hulls, and bark) for colorfastness. She will continue study at K-State for her master’s and doctoral degrees.
CCHS offers an annual award for undergraduate research. Look for the announcement for the next award for presentation in St. Louis.

Kappa Omicron Nu Grant Awards

Crystal Duncan Lane of Eastern Illinois University was recently awarded the Kappa Omicron Nu Ruth E. Hawthorne Research Grant in the amount of $3,000 and the National Alumni Chapter Grant in the amount of $1,000 for a research project entitled “Tracing the Pink Ribbon: Investigating Family Resilience in Women with a History of Breast Cancer.” The objective of the research is to gain a better understanding of how resilience mediates the impact of adversity on family health.
Congratulations, Crystal.

Nu Nu Chapter in the SUUNEWS

Stephanie George, a senior nutrition major from Alpine, is president of Kappa Omicron Nu, an honor society for junior and senior family life and human development majors. She said SUU’s chapter focuses on professional development, service and improving leadership skills to prepare for graduate school.
“I’ve learned so much from the leadership positions,” she said. “I’m not afraid to go to grad school, and I feel confident with going on to the next stage in my life.”
George said being involved with the club has helped her make connections with people on and off SUU’s campus. She said the club invites professionals from different occupational fields to give advice, and the club also provides service to elementary schools and other organizations in the community.
Excerpt from “National Chapters Provide Students with Recognition,” SUUNEWS, Southern Utah University – March 27, 2013

KON Fellowship Recipient

Jennifer Doty of the University of Minnesota-St. Paul has been awarded a $4000 fellowship grant for her doctoral work in Family Science. Jennifer is studying the moderating effect of close relationships on family social capital and child outcomes. She completed her undergraduate work at Brigham Young University and her master’s work at Northern Illinois University.
Congratulations, Jennifer.

New KON Student Board Members

The Kappa Omicron Nu Conclave Assembly of Delegates elected the following student members for the next two years.

  • Grace Chee (Omicron Alpha Chapter) – doctoral student at Michigan State University – Human Development and Family Studies

  • Brittany Cowdery (Nu Delta Chapter) – undergraduate student at Harding University – FCS Education

  • Megan Jackson (Kappa Alpha Theta Chapter) – graduate student at Eastern Illinois University – Gerontology

Video Premiered at Centennial

The video, Omicron Nu: A Celebration of 100 Years, was shown to Conclave delegates at the Thursday, August 9, 2012 dinner to fulfill the theme of Honor the Past. The video was written by Lisa Wooten Booth and Dorothy I. Mitstifer and produced by Brian Booth of id2net.com. The video is available by clicking on the Centennial link on the KON Homepage, www.kon.org. Also available on that link are photo galleries of the Conclave events.

Bullying Initiative Launched

The Bullying Initiative: Service-Learning Project was launched at Conclave by Lorna Browne, Kappa Omicron Nu contractor for developing the project. The web site, http://chapters.kon.org/bullying, provides background information and resources for KON chapter service-learning programs related to the problem of bullying as it exists in schools throughout the United States. Other student and community groups are invited to use this resource.