2016-17 KON Scholarship Winners

This year’s outstanding winners of Kappa Omicron Nu scholarships, fellowships, and grants span the country from Maine to Florida in into the heartland of Iowa and Kansas. Congratulations to each of the recipients on their fine work and our best wishes for continued success!

Leslie Doolie, of Iowa State University’s Omicron Gamma chapter, is the 2016-2017 winner of the Eileen C. Maddex Master’s Fellowship in the amount of $2,000. Leslie is pursuing a master’s in human development and family studies. She is “passionate about community support programs, parental education, early intervention, and helping children and families to meet their best possible outcomes.” Her thesis is on “Early Indicators of Autism Spectrum Disorders Based on Infant Breastfeeding Behaviors.”

The Maddex fellowship is awarded annually from an endowment in the Omicron Nu Fellowship Fund in honor of Eileen’s outstanding contributions to the field during her tenure as the Executive Director of Kappa Omicron Nu’s predecessor, Omicron Nu.

Grace Violette, of the Omicron Alpha Beta chapter at the University of Maine, has won the 2016-2017 Omicron Nu Master’s Fellowship. The $2,000 award is given biennially from Kappa Omicron Nu’s Centennial Endowment Fund.

Grace is particularly drawn to research in the field of dietetics. Her goal is “to help children and families to build healthy lifestyles together, using nutrition as a topic of family conversation.” Her master’s thesis is titled “Investigating the Relationship among Sleep, Stress, and Body Mass Index in At-Risk, First-Year College Students.”

Mark Landess, PhD candidate from Kansas State University’s Omicron Theta chapter, has been awarded the 2016-2017 Kappa Omicron Nu Hettie M. Anthony Doctoral Fellowship in the amount of $2,000. The Anthony fellowship is awarded annually for doctoral research from an endowment in the Kappa Omicron Phi Fellowship Fund in honor of Hettie’s contributions to the field as founder of Kappa Omicron Phi at Northwest Missouri State University.

Mark receives the award to pursue his doctoral thesis, entitled “Rolling Away the Pain: A qualitative exploration of medical cannabis versus traditional medications on the quality of life for veterans combating post-traumatic stress disorder (PTSD).”  He seeks to utilize the skills gained from his PhD program to “continue to grow as an educator and leader…. to help guide and mentor my future students, by encouraging and supporting them in reaching their academic goals, like so many have done, and continue to do for me.”

Fiorella Carlos Chavez, currently pursuing her PhD with the Omicron Pi chapter at Florida State University, has been named the winner of both the Omicron Nu Research Award and the Kappa Omicron Nu New Initiatives Grant for a total of $6,000. The Omicron Nu Research Award for $2,000 is presented each year in recognition of exceptional doctoral research from the Omicron Nu Fellowship Fund. The New Initiatives Grant, typically for $3,000, is awarded annually from the Kappa Omicron Nu New Initiatives Fund. Ms. Carlos Chavez has been awarded $1,500 for the first year of her research, with an additional $2,500 to be awarded in 2017-18, contingent upon the success of her first year’s research into “The Health and Cultural Challenges of Male Latino/Hispanic Emancipated Migrant Farmworker Youth (EMY): A Pilot Study.” She receives the Omicron Nu Research Award to pursue her graduate program.

Fiorella’s goal is to become a family scientist with researched focused on the well-being of minority families. In endeavoring to make significant contributions to the field of family studies, she is acknowledges that “research questions, significant findings, and publications belong to the community one wishes to improve and serve,” and is committed to sharing her knowledge “so that mental health professionals, researchers, academics, and the population at-large can become an active agent of change.”

Kappa Omicron Nu is proud to recognize and support the work of these and other outstanding students and professionals in the Human Sciences with nearly $35,000 in grant monies annually. In addition to congratulating these remarkable students, we also thank their chapter advisers for their dedication and service to KON, and for their superlative commitment to undergraduate and graduate student success: Adrienne White, Omicron Alpha Beta, University of Maine; Jennifer Van Ryswyk, Omicron Gamma, University of Iowa; Gregory Harris, Omicron Pi, Florida State University; and Mary Molt, Omicron Theta, Kansas State University.