Author Archives: KON Admin

Undergraduate Research Awards

2007 Council of Administrators of Family and Consumer Sciences Undergraduate Research Awards

Mary Ellen Herndon – Baylor University The Effect of Using an Egg White Based Egg Substitute in Muffins

Ayisha Thompson – University of Maryland-Eastern Shore College Student's Perception of Clothing that Projects a Professional Image

2007 Emerging Scholars Awards Jessica Erin Davis – Auburn University – Human Science Award Curcumin Down-Regulates Key Gluconeogenic Gene Expression in Hep3B Human Hepatoma Cells

Amy Hendricks – Michigan State University – Global Research Award Preparation of an Extruded Bean-corn Mixture to Rehabilitate Malnourished Children in Tanzania

Sarah Maurer – Eastern Illinois University – Social Justice Award Social Disadvantage and Child and Family Resilience in South Africa These awards were granted for presentations at the 2007 Kappa Omicron Nu Leadership Institute and Undergraduate Research Conference, Dallas, Texas.

Other Presenters: Lauren Darr – Baylor University The Darr Family: Family Genogram Analysis Paper

Molly Hammar & Rachel Rogers – Bradley University Influences on Cookware Choices of Young Adults

Jennifer Marquez – Baylor University The Effect on Quality Characteristics in Yeast Bread Rolls When Substituting Rice Flour for All-purpose Flour at Two Levels

Elizabeth McCallum – University of Maryland-Eastern Shore Leaving a Lasting Impression on the Lives of Elementary School Students at the Seton Center After-School Program: A Service Learning Project

Chapter Award of Excellence


First Place – Kappa Beta Xi Chapter, Carson-Newman College

Second Place – Omicron Tau Chapter, Penn State University

Third Place – Kappa Beta Phi Chapter, Mississippi State University


First Place – Kappa Alpha Chapter, Northwest Missouri State University

Omicron Alpha Beta Chapter, University of Maine

Third Place – Omicron Tau Chapter, Penn State University

Announcing Expansion of Marjorie M. Brown Fellowship Program

Four Classifications of Awards Are Available to continue Brown's philosophical work using critical social theory

  • Dissertation Award
  • Award to Tenure Track Assistant Professors to support research agenda
  • Award to Associate Professors or Professors seeking support for the design and implementation of a a graduate course that teaches a critical science research approach
  • Distinguished Professor Award that recognizes and rewards the use of critical social theory in scholarship and research See Fellowship and Grants

Publication – Qualities of Living: A Platform for Progress

Qualities of Living: A Platform for Progress – Author Barbara S. McFall offers an approach for defining and measuring quality of living for the purpose of expanding the focus on quality of living as the desired outcome of practice. This monograph describes a matrix that includes physical, mental, and emotional well-being and dimensions of intellectual, organizational, social, material, natural, and financial satisfactions. This approach could position Family and Consumer Sciences/Human Sciences at the center of key societal issues involving quality of living, creating value among interested stakeholders. An annual measure of quality of living developed from this understanding would reliably identify emerging and met needs, establishing control of the quality-of-living agenda. More

Announcing Fellowships and Grants for 2007-2008

Master's Fellowships Eileen C. Maddex Fellowship – Susanna K. Scott, CUNY-Hunter College – Public Health

National Alumni Fellowship – Jessie Adala, Florida State University – Merchandising

Doctoral Fellowships Hettie Margaret Anthony Fellowship – David A. Olds, Kansas State University – Foodservice and Hospitality Management

Omicron Nu Research Fellowship – Gunnur Karkurt, Purdue University – Marriage and Family Therapy

Research/Project Grant New Initiatives Grant – Marsha Rehm, Florida State University – The Role of Spirituality in FCS Career Experience: An Exploration of the Narratives of Diverse FCS Professionals

Special Undergraduate Scholarship LeaderShape Institute – Katerina Martin, Washington State University-Vancouver