Omicron Nu Centennial in 2012

The Centennial Planning Committee is hard at work planning the activities to honor the legacy of Omicron Nu. The honor society was founded in 1912 at Michigan Agricultural College, now Michigan State University. Faculty members were familiar with other honor societies, so Dean Maude Gilchrist and faculty decided to recognize home economics scholarship. The purposes of promoting scholarship, research, and leadership were the motivating factors behind its expansion to other campuses across the country.
On February 21, 1990 Kappa Omicron Nu was established by the consolidation of Kappa Omicron Phi and Omicron Nu. Following a successful three-year collaboration as an Administrative Merger, Kappa Omicron Nu was structured to realize the synergistic benefits of two strong organizations. Headquartered in East Lansing, Michigan, Kappa Omicron Nu is located close to the Michigan State University campus. Kappa Omicron Nu serves human sciences academic units on about 100 campuses.
The Centennial Committee is chaired by Linda Nelson (MSU), and committee members include Jenny Bond (MSU), Barbara Fraizier (WMU), Joy Jacobs (MSU), Janis Voege (CMU), and Dorothy Mitstifer, KON Executive Director.